ANZSOC Award winners 2016

Distinguished Criminologist Award

Professor Kate Warner AC and Dr Duncan Chappell, for a lifetime of outstanding, significant and sustained contributions to Australian and New Zealand criminology.

New Scholar Prize

Dr Bianca Fileborn, LaTrobe University for her article Doing gender, doing safety? Young adults’ production of safety on a night out published in Gender, Place and Culture, A Journal of Feminist Geography.

Student Paper Prize

Lorena Rivas, Griffith University for her paper Contemporary Perspectives on Crime: Antiquities Trafficking, supported by Professor Susanne Karstedt. 

The Allen Austin Bartholomew Award

supported by Sage Publications

Associate Professor Julia Quilter, University of Wollongong for her article Populism and criminal justice policy: An Australian case study of non-punitive responses to alcohol-related violence, published in the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Criminology

Adam Sutton Crime Prevention Award

Dr Garner Clancey, Sydney University for his article, Some findings from an Australian local crime prevention case study, published in Crime Prevention and Community Safety: An International Journal.

Allan van Zyl Memorial Prize

Shelley Eder, Charles Darwin University. 

New Zealand Student Award for Best Abstract

Marita Leask for her paper titled ‘A critical discourse analysis of New Zealand sentencing decisions in cases where women kill in the context of intimate partner abuse’.

Australian Student Award for Best Abstract

Madeleine Ulbrick for her paper (with A. Flynn and D. Tyson) titled ‘Abolishing Defensive Homicide: A Step Towards Populist Punitivism at the Expense of Mentally Impaired Offenders’. The PhD candidate is first and corresponding author.