Officers and Committees

The Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Inc. is comprised of Officers and a Committee of Management which include representatives from New Zealand and all the states and territories of Australia.

The Officers and the Committee of Management are elected at the Society AGM, held to coincide with the annual conference. The Officers and the Committee of Management meet at the Annual conference and at other times throughout the year as needs be.

Image 2 Full Size

Back row l-r: Russell Smith, Andrew Goldsmith, Asher Flynn, Madeleine Ulbrick, Li Eriksson,Tara McGee
Front row l-r: Fiona Haines, Katalina Bradley, Jason Payne, Emma Colvin, Jeremy Prichard, Katherine McLachlan Absent: James Oleson, Rebecca Wickes, Alyce McGovern, Adrian Cherney, Jade Lindley, Karen Heenan, James Rodgers, Trevor Bradley, Mark Halsey

Nominations for committee membership

Members are encouraged to email the secretary by August 31 of each year their nomination for election for any vacant positions. The nomination form is found on the ANZSOC website. Upon receipt of the nomination, the incumbent will be informed by the secretary 4 weeks ahead of the AGM of any other nominations. The incumbent then has a choice. If she/he wishes to continue to stand, a biography of 100 words will need to be completed for circulation to the membership 3 weeks ahead of the AGM. There will then be an election at the AGM. Nominations may also be made from the floor at the AGM and if so, that person will be entitled to speak to their nomination briefly.

The following positions will be declared vacant at 2018 AGM, which is likely to be held at lunch on 6 December 2018 at the ANZSOC annual conference in Melbourne:

• President

• Australian Vice President

• Treasurer

• Secretary

• Newsletter Editor

• NSW representative

• QLD representative

• SA representative

• ACT representative

• New Zealand representative

ANZSOC Committee of Management: 2018 Nomination Form


***Expression of Interest for the ANZSOC Treasurer position***

ANZSOC is seeking expression of interest for a Member to fulfil the role of Treasurer from 1 June 2018 with two month shadowing period prior to this until the AGM in December 2018 at which time an election will be held. We have received a resignation notice from Li Eriksson who is taking a period of leave from her academic position.

Pursuant to an amendment to Rule 53a of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology, approved by the AGM in 2014, the Rules of the Society require vacant positions to be filled by a member of the Society until an election is held at the next AGM (for a two year position).

If you are interested in nominating for the position of Treasurer on ANZSOC's Committee of Management, please fill in the nomination form found on the website. If more than one nomination is received, an election for this interim position will also be held.

Nomination form for the Treasurer position - closing date, 14 March 2018



Office bearers

Dr Tara McGee (Griffith University)

Australian Vice-President
Dr Rebecca Wickes (Monash University)

New Zealand Vice-President
Dr James Oleson (The University of Auckland)

Ms Katalina Bradley (Australian Institute of Criminology)

Dr Larissa (Lara) Christensen (University of the Sunshine Coast)

Committee members

New South Wales
Dr Alyce McGovern (University of New South Wales)

Northern Territory
Mrs Karen Heenan (Swinburne Online) 

Dr Adrian Cherney (The University of Queensland)

South Australia
Ms Katherine McLachlan (University of South Australia)

Dr Jeremy Prichard (University of Tasmania)

Dr Asher Flynn (Monash University)

Western Australia
Dr Jade Lindley (University of Western Australia)

Australia Capital Territory
Dr Jason Payne (Australian National University)

New Zealand
Dr Trevor Bradley (Victoria University of Wellington)
Dr James Rodgers (The University of Auckland)

Postgraduate Early Career Researcher Representative
Ms Madeleine Ulbrick (Monash University)

Newsletter Editor
Dr Emma Colvin (Charles Sturt University) 

Journal Editor
Professors Mark Halsey and Andrew Goldsmith (Flinders University)

2018 conference convenor
Professor Fiona Haines (The University of Melbourne)