Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology

Crimmigration and Border Control

Crimmigration and Border Control

Leanne Weber, University of Canberra
Alison Gerard, University of Canberra
Marinella Marmo, Flinders University

The proposed thematic group is based around the emerging sub-discipline variously described as ‘border criminology’ or the ‘criminology of mobility’. It will bring together members who undertake research on the confluence of criminal and immigration law, a development characterised by US legal scholar Juliet Stumpf as ‘crimmigration’.

Members of this thematic group are at the forefront of interdisciplinary efforts to understand the context for the expansion and effectiveness of crimmigration and other forms of border control, and their impact on sovereignty, mobility, lived experience, and on long-standing criminal justice and immigration procedures and processes.

Aims and Objectives
The Crimmigration and Border Control Thematic Group aims to:

  • Foster the exchange and deepening of ideas between scholars operating in Australia/New Zealand-Aotearoa and globally
  • Form a cross-institutional research network that promotes communication, research collaboration, dissemination, mentoring and support
  • Enhance the relevance and impact of existing and emerging research areas
  • Ensure a rural, regional and remote focus is visible within research collaborations, networks
    and events
  • Build and forge links between researchers and industry partners in the criminal justice and
    immigration system
  • Provide a ‘crimmigration and border control’ stream within the ANZSOC conference program
  • Maintain a presence on the ANZSOC website and act as a point of first contact for information about this research area


Leanne Weber, University of Canberra
Alison Gerard, University of Canberra
Marinella Marmo, Flinders University
Erin O’Brien, Queensland University of Technology
Mike Grewcock
Louise Boon-Kuo, University of Sydney
Sanja Milivojevic, Oxford University
Marie Segrave, Monash University
Sharon Pickering, Monash University
Maria Giannacopolous, Flinders University
Rebecca Powell, Monash University
Meg Randolph, Monash University
Mary Bosworth, Oxford/Monash University
Claire Loughnan, University of Melbourne
Willem de Lint, Flinders University
Nerida Chazal, University of South Australia
Elizabeth Stanley, Victoria University of Wellington
Anthea Vogl, University of Technology Sydney
Andy Kaladelfos, University of New South Wales
Elyse Methven, University of Technology Sydney
Faith Gordon, Australian National University
Peter Billings, University of Queensland
Henrietta McNeill, Australian National University
Brandy Cochrane, Victoria University

Group Links