The Society

Statement of purpose

The purposes for which The Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Inc. is established are:

  • to promote study, understanding, and co-operation in the field of Criminology;
  • to bring together persons actively engaged, or who have been actively engaged, in teaching and/or practices in the field of Criminology;
  • to foster training and research in Criminology in institutions of learning, and in law enforcement, judicial, and correctional agencies;
  • to encourage communication within the field of Criminology through publications and conferences;
  • to promote and foster understanding of Criminology by parliaments, governments, and the public.

The Committee of Management


The initial constitution of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Inc. was confirmed by the Executive of the Society on December 5, 1967 pursuant to a resolution of the inaugural general meeting of the Society.

This inaugural meeting had been held on October 24, 1967 at the University of Melbourne and was attended by 47 people.

Dr Tara McGee, President


The current ANZSOC Treasurer is:

Dr Larissa (Lara) Christensen
Lecturer in Criminology, School of Law
University of the Sunshine Coast
Room J5.09
Queensland 4556 Australia

Email: lchriste@usc.edu.au

Dr Larissa (Lara) Christensen, Treasurer

Officers and Committees

The Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Inc. is comprised of Officers and a Committee of Management which include representatives from New Zealand and all the states and territories of Australia.

The Officers and the Committee of Management are elected at the Society AGM, held to coincide with the annual conference. The Officers and the Committee of Management meet at the Annual conference and at other times throughout the year as needs be.

Back row L-R: Russell Smith, Andrew Goldsmith, Asher Flynn, Madeleine Ulbrick, Li Eriksson,Tara McGee
Front row L-R: Fiona Haines, Katalina Bradley, Jason Payne, Emma Colvin, Jeremy Prichard, Katherine McLachlan
Absent: James Oleson, Rebecca Wickes, Alyce McGovern, Adrian Cherney, Jade Lindley, Karen Heenan, James Rodgers, Trevor Bradley, Mark Halsey

Nominations for committee membership
Members are encouraged to email the secretary by August 31 of each year their nomination for election for any vacant positions. The nomination form is found on the ANZSOC website. Upon receipt of the nomination, the incumbent will be informed by the secretary 4 weeks ahead of the AGM of any other nominations. The incumbent then has a choice. If she/he wishes to continue to stand, a biography of 100 words will need to be completed for circulation to the membership 3 weeks ahead of the AGM. There will then be an election at the AGM. Nominations may also be made from the floor at the AGM and if so, that person will be entitled to speak to their nomination briefly.

Nomination form


Office Bearers

Dr Tara McGee (Griffith University)

Australian Vice-President
Dr Rebecca Wickes (Monash University)

New Zealand Vice-President
Dr James Oleson (The University of Auckland)

Ms Katalina Bradley (Australian Institute of Criminology)

Dr Larissa (Lara) Christensen (University of the Sunshine Coast)


Committee Members

New South Wales
Dr Alyce McGovern (University of New South Wales)

Northern Territory
Mrs Karen Heenan (Swinburne Online)

Dr Adrian Cherney (The University of Queensland)

South Australia
Ms Katherine McLachlan (University of South Australia)

Dr Jeremy Prichard (University of Tasmania)

Dr Asher Flynn (Monash University)

Western Australia
Dr Jade Lindley (University of Western Australia)

Australia Capital Territory
Dr Jason Payne (Australian National University)

New Zealand
Dr Trevor Bradley (Victoria University of Wellington)
Dr James Rodgers (The University of Auckland)

Postgraduate Early Career Researcher Representative
Ms Madeleine Ulbrick (Monash University)

Newsletter Editor
Dr Emma Colvin (Charles Sturt University)

Journal Editor
Professors Mark Halsey and Andrew Goldsmith (Flinders University)

2018 conference convenor
Professor Fiona Haines (The University of Melbourne)

Thematic Groups

More information to come in 2019