Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology

About

The Society

Statement of purpose

The purposes for which The Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Inc. is established are:

  • to promote study, understanding, and co-operation in the field of Criminology;
  • to bring together persons actively engaged, or who have been actively engaged, in teaching and/or practices in the field of Criminology;
  • to foster training and research in Criminology in institutions of learning, and in law enforcement, judicial, and correctional agencies;
  • to encourage communication within the field of Criminology through publications and conferences;
  • to promote and foster understanding of Criminology by parliaments, governments, and the public.

The Committee of Management

The initial constitution of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Inc. was confirmed by the Executive of the Society on December 5, 1967 pursuant to a resolution of the inaugural general meeting of the Society.

This inaugural meeting had been held on October 24, 1967 at the University of Melbourne and was attended by 47 people.

President

        Dr Angela Higginson
        Associate Professor
        Queensland University of Technology
        Email: angela.higginson@qut.edu.au

Treasurer

Dr Kelly Hine
Lecturer
University of the Sunshine Coast
Queensland
Email: khine@usc.edu.au 

Secretary

Dr Michelle Sydes
Griffith University
Queensland
Email: m.sydes@griffith.edu.edu

 

Officers and Committees

The Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Inc. is comprised of Officers and a Committee of Management which include representatives from New Zealand and all the states and territories of Australia.

The Officers and the Committee of Management are elected at the Society AGM, held to coincide with the annual conference. The Officers and the Committee of Management meet at the Annual conference and at other times throughout the year as needs be.

Nominations for committee membership

Members are encouraged to email the secretary by August 31 of each year their nomination for election for any vacant positions. The incumbent will be informed by the secretary 4 weeks ahead of the AGM of any other nominations. If the incumbent wishes to continue stand, a biography of 100 words will need to be completed (by all relevant candidates) for circulation to the membership 3 weeks ahead of the AGM, and there will then be an election at the AGM. Nominations may also be made from the floor at the AGM and, if so, that person will be entitled to speak briefly to their nomination.
The following positions will be declared vacant at the 2023 AGM which will be held at the ANZSOC Conference in Melbourne, December 2023.

Office Bearer

  •   Vice President New Zealand
Committee Members 
  •   Northern Territory
  •   Tasmania
  •   Victoria
  •   New Zealand

Download the Nomination form here.

Office Bearers

President
Dr Angela Higginson (Queensland University of Technology)
Email: angela.higginson@qut.edu.au

Australian Vice-President
Dr Rachel Loney-Howes (University of Wollongong)
Email: rlhowes@uow.edu.au

New Zealand Vice-President
Dr Susann Wiedlitzka (University of Auckland)
Email: susann.wiedlitzka@auckland.ac.nz

Secretary
Dr Michelle Sydes (Griffith University)
Email: m.sydes@griffith.edu.au

Treasurer
Dr Kelly Hine (Australian National University)
Email: khine@usc.edu.au

Committee Members

New South Wales
Dr Julie Barkworth (Corrective Services, NSW)
Email: 

Northern Territory
Ms Louise Ogden (Department of the Attorney-General and Justice)
Email: louise.ogden@nt.gov.au 

Queensland
Dr Lacey Schaefer (Griffith University)
Email: l.schaefer@griffith.edu.au

South Australia
Melissa de Vel-Palumbo (Flinders University
Email: melissa.devel-palumbo@flinders.edu.au

Tasmania
Dr Loene Howes (University of Tasmania)
Email: loene.howes@utas.edu.au

Victoria
Dr Mary Iliadis (Deakin University)
Email: mary.iliadis@deakin.edu.au

Western Australia
Dr Natalie Gately (Edith Cowan University)
Email: n.gately@ecu.edu.au

Australia Capital Territory
Dr Emily Corner (Australian National University)
Email: emily.corner@anu.edu.au

New Zealand
Dr Tamasailau Suaalii-Sauni (University of Auckland)
Email: s.suaalii-sauni@auckland.ac.nz 
Dr James Mehigan (University of Canterbury)
Email: james.mehigan@canterbury.ac.nz

Postgraduate Early Career Researcher Representative
Dr Lisa Wheildon (Monash University)
Emai: lisa.wheildon@monash.edu

Newsletter Editor
Ms Hannah Robertson 
Email: 

Journal Editor
Dr Asher Flynn (Monash University) and Dr Rebecca Wickes (Griffith University)

Historical Adviser
Professor Russell Smith (Flinders University)
Email: russell.smith@flinders.edu.au 

2023 conference convenors
Dr Kate Burns (Chair, Monash University)

2023-24 CoM Executive team L-R: Susann Wiedlitzka, Angela Higginson, Rachel Loney-Howes, Michelle Sydes and Kelly Hines who is not in this photo
2023-24 New CoM including our outgoing members L-R (backrow): Lisa Wheildon, Rebecca Wickes, Natalie Gately, Mary Iliadis, Susann Wiedlitzka, Melissa de Vel-Palumbo, James Mehigan, Julie Barkworth, Michelle Sydes, Katalina Foliaki. L-R (front row): Andrew Goldsmith, Jason Payne, Asher Flynn, Rachel Loney-Howes, Angela Higginson, Emily Corner, Hanna Robertson, Emily Moir