Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology

Teaching & Learning in Criminology

Teaching & Learning in Criminology

Dr Kate Burns, Monash University

The study of criminology within higher education has grown significantly in recent times. Australian criminology students have varied career trajectories which include government organisation, private companies, non-governmental organisations/third sector employers and academia. As the discipline adapts to the changing criminological landscape, it is important that our teaching adapts also.

The Teaching & Learning in Criminology Thematic Group welcomes all ANZSOC members with an interest in teaching criminology. The group will advance and highlight knowledge, practice and innovation in teaching. This group is for all members with a passion for teaching, not just those that undertake education research.

The group will nurture education innovation and champion educators. The group is an opportunity to build a network of scholars and practitioners to enhance our teaching practices.

Aims and Objectives
This thematic group aims to:

  • Share education expertise to build links between Higher Education institutions;
  • Create a network of scholars and practitioners to support and promote innovation in teaching
    and learning;
  • To facilitate and encourage national and international collaborations between scholars for mentoring, support and funding;
  • Highlight the excellent work being undertaken around Australia and New Zealand in teaching and learning; and
  • Organise and promote events related to Teaching and Learning in Criminology.

Current ANZSOC members that support the proposed thematic group:
Dr Kate Burns, Monash University
Dr Jarrett Blaustein, Monash University
Dr Mary Iliadis, Deakin University
Dr Rachel Loney-Howes, University of Wollongong
Dr Rachael Burgin, Swinburne University of Technology
Dr Emily Moir, Griffith University
Dr Melissa Jardine, UNODC
Assoc Prof James Roffee, Swinburne University of Technology
Dr Leone Howes, University of Tasmania
Dr John Whitehead, Australian College of Applied Psychology
Assoc Prof Alyce McGovern, University of New South Wales
Dr Mark Wood, Deakin University
Dr Bridget Harris, Queensland University of Technology
Dr Vicky Nagy, University of Tasmania
Dr Joel McGregor, University of Newcastle

Group Links