Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology

Cybercrime and Digital Criminology

Cybercrime and Digital Criminology

Dr Russell Brewer, University of Adelaide
Dr Cassandra Cross, Queensland University of Technology

The Cybercrime and Digital Criminology ANZSOC thematic group brings together an
interdisciplinary cast of scholars from across Australia and New Zealand seeking to better
understand the role and impact of digital technologies on offending, victimisation and justice. Group member share interests across a broad range of areas, including, but not limited to:

  • Understanding the extent and nature and extent of cybercrime and technology-facilitated criminality in its many forms;
  • Explaining the individual, social and structural factors associated with cyber-offending and developmental trajectories;
  • Examining the nature, context and drivers of cyber-victimisation and injustice;
  • Developing and evaluating crime prevention strategies and interventions in digital environments;
  • Identifying effective means of policing and regulating cyber-offending;
  • Examination of justice movements and the impacts of digital advocacy.

Aims and Objectives
The thematic group aims to:

  • Provide a forum that will serve as a meeting place for like-minded students, early, mid-career and senior researchers to share their research and ideas, seek guidance and mentorship, as well as foster new interdisciplinary collaborations leveraging mixed-method approaches.
  • Build links between researchers and practitioners to inform evidence-based policy and advocacy.
  • Organise ANZSOC conference panels and other events throughout the year that align with the sub-themes associated with the thematic group.
  • Coordinate activities with similarly established divisions and groups within the American Society of Criminology (Division of Cybercrime), the European Society of Criminology (Working Group on Cybercrime), and the International Interdisciplinary Research Consortium on Cybercrime.


  • Andrew Goldsmith, Flinders University
  • Justin Ellis, University of Newcastle 
  • Robin Cameron, RMIT University
  • Zarina Vakhitova, Monash University
  • Bridget Harris, Monash University
  • Mark Wood, Deakin University
  • Anastasia Powell, RMIT University
  • Carolyn McKay, The University of Sydney
  • Russell Smith, Flinders University
  • Rebecca Medhurst, University of South Australia
  • Michael Wilson, Murdoch University
  • Asher Flynn, Monash University
  • Katie Logos, University of Adelaide
  • Greg Stratton, RMIT University
  • John Bolimos, South Australia Police
List updated 10/10/23

Group Links